Nottingham Forest boss Sean Dyche was furious with a number of refereeing decisions from the 2-2 draw with Manchester United at the City Ground this weekend – and that has seemingly been backed up by key TV figures.
Speaking on Sky Sports’ Ref Watch, former striker Jay Bothroyd and ex-Premier League official Dermot Gallagher felt United were lucky both of their goals were allowed to stand, following a series of contentious VAR decisions.
United’s first goal came after Nicolo Savona cleared a ball that had been played into the Forest area, before then chasing his own clearance near the byline. Despite the Forest defender’s insistence that he’d kept the ball in play, officials awarded Ruben Amorim’s side a corner kick, which Casemiro subsequently scored from.
Gallagher, an ex-Premier League referee, said: “The assistant has made a judgement call which I feel, it’s obviously not out. Why he’s made that, I don’t know.
“If the ball does go out – and he doesn’t see it – I can understand that because he’s got two posts and a goalkeeper. He’s got Savona himself in front of him, but he’s made the decision from 70-yards incorrectly. He’s probably thought it’s gone out, but it hasn’t.”
One-time Premier League forward Bothroyd added: “I completely agree, the ball has definitely not gone out, the fact that the linesman has made a judgement call from 70 yards… when the referee was closer. I know he’s at a bit of a different angle, but the referee was definitely closer.
“It’s just too far to say. This is twice in two weeks now. I’m thinking to myself, there’s goal-line technology maybe that can be used across the whole byline.
“They obviously VAR can’t change the rules for this year, but it’s definitely something they need to look at for next year. It’ll cost teams ultimately.
“I think you can look at that in 10 seconds, and it will be cleared up and there will be no debate. They have enough time to look at that and make a decision.”
Gallagher responded over whether the linesman made that call, as he said: “Yes I do [think he made the decision]. He’s the only one in the position to make it. It’s not ideal because he’s got so many things in his way.
“I still go back to the fact, this is the line and the ball is over it, if I can’t see it you’re going to forgive me. You’re not going to forgive me for something that didn’t happen.”
Forest battled back from a goal down to secure a 2-1 advantage courtesy of goals from Morgan Gibbs-White and Savona during a blistering opening to the second period.
Nevertheless, United grabbed a dramatic leveller in the 81st minute through Amad, although there was additional controversy surrounding that equaliser with the ball seemingly striking the Ivorian’s hand in the build-up.
Gallagher conceded: “It strikes his arm on the way through doesn’t it? The rule is, has he scored? No, so he’s not penalised for that. Is it deliberate? No.
“What it does is, it brushes his arm on the way through, and if you watch it gets knocked out and brushes his arm there. It’s not a deliberate play so the game goes on. Gets cleared, he shoots but not handball.”
Bothroyd queried: “Obviously it does brush his hand but a goal comes from it, though?”
Gallagher confirmed: “It does.”
Bothroyd then posed another question: “In that respect, then, would you be saying a goal comes from it, it is handball, should it be given?”
The ex-official responded: “Well, it wasn’t deliberate, was it?”
Bothroyd retorted: “Well I know it wasn’t deliberate, but it’s still handball and the goal has come because of it.”
“If it was a defender would you give a penalty?” Gallagher countered.
“You’ve got me on this one,” admitted the one-time Cardiff City striker.
Be the first to comment